New board for leading cereal chemists

Related tags Nutrition Aacc

Food ingredients giant Danisco contributes a new face to the
recently elected board of the 3,000-strong cereal chemists body.

The American Association of Cereal Chemists (AACC) announced this week that Stuart Craig, scientific and regulatory affairs manager for Danisco USA, will be the new president-elect on the 2004-2005 board. He currently serves on the Dietary Fiber and Starch Technical Committee and the Scientific Advisory panel.

The cereal chemists also elected Jan Van der Kamp, programme director at the Dutch food research organisation TNO Nutrition, as the new international director. Kamp will be responsible for initiating and reviewing major research programmes and 'strengthening industrial links'.

Mary Ellen Camire, newly appointed AACC director, is a professor in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition at the University of Maine and director of the Consumer Testing Center.

George Lookhart, a research chemist with the US Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service at the Grain Marketing and Production Research Center, will begin his term as AACC president at the conclusion of the AACC annual meeting later this month in San Diego.

The European arm​ of the AACC recently changed its name to Cereals&Europe with the aim of becoming "a forum for networking and interaction among European and North African cereal scientists and technologists"​. The network currently includes about 350 members.

Related topics Ingredients

Related news